Herbert Fennell first opened 57 Church Street as a jewellers in the 1950’s, and it has been Seaford’s jewellers ever since. The shop continued to be H. Fennell & Son until 1973, when it was then taken over by Mr George Hunnisett, a semi-retired jeweller. Having already run jewellery shops in London and in fact still had interests in a store in Regents Street, he had retired to East Dean. However, he had become bored of retirement life and took the opportunity to take over Fennell’s. Mr Hunnisett changed the shop’s name to ‘Peter Trevor Jewellers’, naming it after his son. Mr Hunnisett sadly passed away in 1986.
Mrs Gillian Hickman, with her husband Malcom Hickman, daughter of Mr Hunniset, then took over the running of the shop, and continued to run the shop until ill health prevented them from carrying on.
For a short spell, as Mrs and Mr Hickman’s health deteriorated, their daughters ran the shop. Then in January 2019 it was passed on to us, the current owners and friends of the Hickman family, John and Deborah Suggitt . We have invested heavily in new stock and have freshened both the exterior and interior of the shop, whilst maintaining the shop’s vintage charm. Hopefully, keeping it as Seaford’s jewellers for a few more decades.
We run the shop with Clare our manageress, who has worked at the shop for over 15 years. Our two other members of staff are Debbie, a retired police officer and Patricia, who is our resident pearl restringing queen. Together we have a combined 56 years of jewellery and watch experience and most of us hold jewellery qualifications. To find out more about what we can offer see Our Services.
Proud members of the National Association of Jewellers and abide by their code of conduct .
We are also members of the Seaford Chamber of Commerce.